Home and Trains Useful Links Coaches and Buses The Two Towns About us Feedback






GWR Notice: Newbury is going Electric

Next year promises to be a very important one for train travel, as we deliver greater capacity and improved reliability across our network. Brand new Intercity Express Trains, plus the electrification of the route between Reading and Newbury, mean journeys will be quicker and seating capacity will be increased. To make this happen, Network Rail will be undertaking upgrade work on various weekdays this year between Monday 12 March and Thursday 22 November. During this time, we’ll need to make some changes to the way you travel with us:

What you need to know:

 long-distance services from London to the West of England will continue to run by using a different route; some will leave from London Paddington, and Reading, at different times than normal - and journeys may be up 30 minutes longer

 train times may be subject to change at short notice – once Network Rail confirm their plans


The work is currently due to take place on the following dates:

 Monday 12 to Thursday 15 March      Monday 23 to Thursday 26 April

 Monday 14 to Thursday 17 May         Monday 4 to Thursday 7 June

 Monday 9 to Thursday 12 July         Monday 16 July to Sunday 5 August [Three weeks!!]

 Tuesday 28 to Thursday 30 August     Monday 8 to Thursday 11 October

                                      Monday 19 to Thursday 22 November

These dates are subject to change.   Always check journey times before you travel.

[This means trains from Paddington and Reading will stay on the Bristol line as far as Chippenham, and then come on to Castle Cary from Westbury; trains from Castle Cary and the Westcountry will leave the usual route at Westbury and go by way of Trowbridge, Chippenham, Swindon and Didcot to Reading and Paddington. Both ways, as stated above, trains will take an extra half-hour. Ed]

Back to the top